Tief in den Wäldern liegt ein Wunder des alten und natürlichen Belize. Nach einer 45-minütigen Fahrt von San Ignacio und einer 45-minütigen Wanderung durch das wunderschöne Naturschutzgebiet Tapir Mountain mit zahlreichen Dschungel-Bachüberquerungen finden Besucher einen kristallklaren Bach, der von der Höhlenöffnung fließt.

Machen Sie ein kurzes Schwimmen in der Höhle und eine geführte Wanderung durch die Passage zu einer der beeindruckendsten Maya-Stätten in Belize. Auch lokal bekannt als "Xibalba", finden Sie Hinweise auf Keramik, Steinzeug und Skelette. Ein Artefakt namens "Monkey Pot" ist einer von nur vier in Mittelamerika gefunden. Ein Skelett, bekannt als "The Crystal Maiden", sind die verkalkten Knochen eines Teenager-Mädchens, was dem Skelett ein funkelndes Aussehen verleiht.

Bitte beachten Sie, dass der erstaunliche ATM ein bisschen körperlich anstrengend ist und Sie an Punkten durch die Höhle schwimmen werden. Wenn Sie gerade nicht in Form sind, könnte dies Ihr Anreiz sein, fit zu werden.

Glauben Sie uns, es ist es wert.

x
10/20/14 at 11:14 AM
Belize implements Ebola travel ban and additional screening at ports of entry.
New measures have been implemented by the Government of Belize to further protect the country from the Ebola virus. There are currently no known cases of Ebola in Belize and the overall risk remains low. Find Out More >>
actun tunichil muknal (atm)
Caves and Crystal Maidens. All at the ATM.
Deep within the forests lies a wonder of both ancient and natural Belize. Following a 45-minute drive from San Ignacio and a 45-minute hike through the beautiful Tapir Mountain Nature Reserve with numerous jungle stream crossings, visitors find a crystal-clear stream flowing from the cave opening.

Take a short swim into the cave and a guided hike through the passage to one of the most impressive Maya sites in Belize. Also known locally as "Xibalba," you'll find evidence of ceramics, stoneware and skeletons.  One artifact named the "Monkey Pot" is one of just four found in Central America. One skeleton, known as "The Crystal Maiden," is the calcified bones of a teenage girl, giving the skeleton a sparkling appearance. 

Please be aware that seeing the amazing ATM is a bit physically demanding and you’ll be swimming through the cave at points. If you’re not currently in shape, this could be your incentive to get fit.

Believe us, it’s worth it.