Les merveilles antiques et naturelles du Belize se trouvent profondément enfouies dans les forêts. Il faut mettre 45 minutes de route au départ de San Ignacio suivi d’une randonnée de la même durée (parsemée de multiples traversées de cours d’eau) pour enfin parvenir au ruisseau cristallin découlant de l’orifice de la caverne, dans la merveilleuse réserve naturelle Tapir Mountain.

Débutez par une brève baignade en grotte suivie d’une randonnée guidée franchissant un passage menant à un des plus impressionnants sites mayas du Belize. Également appelé « Xibalba », vous y trouverez des traces de céramique, de grès et de squelettes. Le « Monkey Pot », un seul des quatre artéfacts, a été trouvé en Amérique centrale. Connu sous le nom de « Crystal Maiden », un squelette d’une apparence étincelante représente les os calcifiés d’une fillette.

Sachez que visiter ATM est quelque peu exigeant sur le plan physique et que vous aurez à nager dans les grottes à certains endroits. Si vous n’êtes pas en forme actuellement, ceci pourrait bien être votre motivation pour le devenir!

Croyez-nous, ça en vaut la peine!

Schedule

x
10/20/14 at 11:14 AM
Belize implements Ebola travel ban and additional screening at ports of entry.
New measures have been implemented by the Government of Belize to further protect the country from the Ebola virus. There are currently no known cases of Ebola in Belize and the overall risk remains low. Find Out More >>
actun tunichil muknal (atm)
Caves and Crystal Maidens. All at the ATM.
Deep within the forests lies a wonder of both ancient and natural Belize. Following a 45-minute drive from San Ignacio and a 45-minute hike through the beautiful Tapir Mountain Nature Reserve with numerous jungle stream crossings, visitors find a crystal-clear stream flowing from the cave opening.

Take a short swim into the cave and a guided hike through the passage to one of the most impressive Maya sites in Belize. Also known locally as "Xibalba," you'll find evidence of ceramics, stoneware and skeletons.  One artifact named the "Monkey Pot" is one of just four found in Central America. One skeleton, known as "The Crystal Maiden," is the calcified bones of a teenage girl, giving the skeleton a sparkling appearance. 

Please be aware that seeing the amazing ATM is a bit physically demanding and you’ll be swimming through the cave at points. If you’re not currently in shape, this could be your incentive to get fit.

Believe us, it’s worth it.