伯利茲享受的8種不尋常和異國情調的食物

幾個世紀以來,伯利茲的美食一直精心製作,其功能表保證以其大膽的風味點燃味蕾。每個地區都帶來了自己的創意和傳統風格。雖然米飯和豆類可能是國菜,但對於那些渴望體驗新的和完全不同的東西的人來說,還有很多其他的食物可以嘗試。對於來訪的美食家和冒險家,這裡有一個在伯利茲享受的不尋常和異國情調的食物的清單。  

  1. 牛腳湯。是的,這道菜的明星真的是牛腳(不包括蹄子)。慢慢地煮熟,多汁的嫩,牛腳與各種蔬菜混合,包括木薯,椰子,秋葵胡椒和調味料。最終結果是美味,豐盛和舒適的湯。 牛腳湯通常輔以椰子白米飯或新鮮玉米餅,以及您選擇的整個哈瓦那或胡椒醬。
  2. 尾纖。鹽腌尾辮是調味日常美食(如燉豆)的首選。這種美味跨越了幾十年甚至幾個世紀的伯利茲烹飪傳統,並在幾道菜中添加了尾纖。番茄醬中的尾纖是伯利茲煮沸的核心,還有煮熟的紅薯,木薯,可哥,車前草和雞蛋,所有這些都被濃郁的醬汁窒息。尾纖也可以熏制或豌豆湯。
  3. 奇莫爾。這種美味的湯也被稱為“黑色晚餐”或“黑湯”,因為它的顏色很深。奇莫萊植根於瑪雅和混血文化,在伯利茲,所有人都喜歡。獨特的顏色和成分是由燒焦的玉米餅製成的黑色recado調味料。傳統上,一大碗雞皮與玉米餅一起享用,也可以與椰子白米飯一起享用。
  4. 布庫特。在 懸掛在Cassia Grandis 樹上的一個長長的硬殼豆莢中,您會真正享受或厭惡bukt。 你不會忘記這種水果的刺鼻香氣,當地人經常將其與臭襪子或腳進行比較,並被昵稱為“臭腳趾bukt”。在打破豆莢時,露出一個粘稠的紙漿覆蓋的種子,具有幾乎類似糖蜜的味道。捏住鼻子,享受這種據說具有許多藥用價值的美味獎勵。  
  5. 吉布納特。如果您在伯利茲的中央海岸,請掃描路邊功能表,瞭解季節性遊戲。Paca或gibnut在訪問伯利茲時被送給女王伊莉莎白二世之後獲得了國際聲譽,被稱為“皇家老鼠”。適合女王,這種味道經常被比作兔子。燉野味通常與米飯和豆類搭配,作為美味的雞肉替代品。其他可以嘗試的野味是當季的 peccary (野豬)和 鬣蜥 。 
  6. 海藻奶昔。這種奶油和營養豐富的混合物在外觀上類似於蛋酒和伯利茲倫波波。海藻奶昔通常包括煉乳、煉乳、肉桂、香草和肉豆蔻。海藻奶昔在商店中以各種頹廢的口味出售,如花生,咖啡和香草。它也可以在海岸上享用新鮮製作的,例如在珀拉什奇亞。
  7. 麵包果。這種腳球大小的水果外表綠色,內側海綿狀,質地和味道與馬鈴薯相似。麵包果只在熱帶地區發現,使其成為伯利茲季節性的必嘗之地。與土豆類似,麵包果是油炸(薯條),蒸或烤制的。煮熟后,它散發出新鮮出爐的麵包的香氣,因此得名。  
  8. 雞爪。在伯利茲的烹飪中,沒有肉類被浪費,即使是日常的最愛。雞的脖子,腮腺和雞的腳被一些人認為是多汁的零食。雖然當地人傾向於為自己保留這些,但如果您在玉米粉蒸肉或雞湯中遇到雞爪,請不要感到驚訝。下次您訂購米飯和豆類時,請要求將雞爪,雞爪或脖子添加到您的盤子中。

品嘗幾種或所有這些不尋常的異國情調的食物甚至可能使您有資格獲得伯利茲護照。

圖片由Lauren Margesson和伯利茲旅遊局提供

Health Safety

Belize is welcoming travelers again, with a Tourism Gold Standard program in place designed to keep you safe and recognized as one of the top in the world. See our Health & Safety page for up-to-date details related to COVID-19 vaccinations, testing requirements and everything else you need to know in order to have the Belize vacation of your dreams.

LEARN MORE
safe travels

8 Unusual and Exotic Foods enjoyed in Belize

Belize’s cuisine has been crafted over the centuries producing a menu guaranteed to ignite tastebuds with its bold flavors. Each region, brings its own creative and traditional flair to the table. While rice and beans may be the national dish, there are plenty of other foods to try for those eager to experience something new and quite different. For the visiting foodie and adventurer, here is a bucket-list of unusual and exotic foods enjoyed in Belize.  

  1. Cow Foot Soup. Yes, the star of the dish really is cows’ feet (hooves not included). Slowly cooked to a juicy tenderness, the cow foot is mixed with a variety of vegetables including cassava, coco, okra pepper, and seasoning. The end result is a savory, hearty and comforting soup.  Cow foot soup is typically complemented by a side of coconut white rice or fresh corn tortillas and your choice of a whole habanero or pepper sauce.
  2. Pigtail. Salt-brined pigtail is the go-to for flavoring everyday favorites such as stewed beans. This delicacy spans decades if not centuries of culinary tradition in Belize with pigtail added to several dishes. Pigtail in tomato sauce is the centerpiece of Belizean Boil-up along with boiled sweet potato, cassava, cocoa, plantain, and egg, all smothered in the tangy sauce. Pigtail can also be enjoyed smoked or in split pea soup.
  3. Chimole. This tasty soup is also known as “Black Dinner” or “Black Soup” due to its dark color. Rooted in Maya and Mestizo cultures, chimole is enjoyed by all in Belize. The unique color and ingredient is the black recado seasoning made from burnt corn tortillas. A large bowl of chimole is traditionally enjoyed with corn tortillas or may also be served with coconut white rice.
  4. Bukut. Found in a long, hard-shell pod hanging from the Cassia Grandis tree, you’ll either really enjoy or have an aversion to the bukut.  You won’t forget this fruit’s pungent aroma that locals often compare to smelly socks or feet and have nicknamed as “stinking toe bukut”. Upon breaking the pod, a sticky pulp-covered seed with an almost molasses-like flavor is revealed. Hold your nose and enjoy this tasty reward said to have a number of medicinal properties.  
  5. Gibnut. If you are in Belize’s central coast, scan the road side menus for seasonal game. The Paca or gibnut gained international fame, being dubbed the “Royal Rat”, after it was served to Queen Elizabeth II on a visit to Belize. Fit for a queen, the taste has often been compared to rabbit. Stewed game is often paired with rice and beans for a delicious chicken substitute. Other game meats to try are the peccary (wild pig) and iguana when in season. 
  6. Seaweed Shake. This creamy and nutrient-rich concoction is similar in appearance to eggnog and Belizean rumpopo. A seaweed shake typically includes evaporated milk, condensed milk, cinnamon, vanilla and nutmeg. Seaweed shakes are sold in stores in a variety of decadent flavors such as peanut, coffee, and vanilla. It can also be enjoyed freshly made on the coast, such as in Placencia.
  7. Breadfruit. Green on the outside and spongy on the inside, this foot-ball sized fruit is similar in texture and flavor to a potato. Breadfruit is found only in tropical regions, making it a must-try when in season in Belize. Similar to potatoes, breadfruit is served fried (chips), steamed, or baked. When cooked it gives off the aroma of freshly baked bread, hence the name.  
  8. Chicken Feet. No meat is wasted in Belizean cooking, even when it comes to an everyday favorite. The neck, gizzard and the feet of the chicken are considered succulent treats by some. While locals tend to reserve these for themselves, don’t be surprised if you come across chicken feet in your tamale or chicken soup. The next time you order rice and beans make a request to add the chicken feet, gizzard or neck to your plate.

Sampling several or all of these unusual and exotic foods may even qualify you for a Belizean passport.

Images courtesy Lauren Margesson and the Belize Tourism Board